Skip to content

Blueberry Pie

December 5, 2011
tags: ,

  • 10 cups frozen blueberries
  • 3/4 cup red wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • pie crust (I used Smitten Kitchen’s)

1. In a large pan, cook frozen blueberries for approximately 5 minutes. Add wine and simmer for another 5 minutes. Turn heat down to low and cook blueberries down until they are in a jam-like consistency, about 35 minutes.

2. In a medium-sized bowl, combine remaining ingredients: cinnamon, allspice, vanilla extract, sugar, salt, lemon juice, butter, and flour.

3. Once blueberries have cooked down to a jam-like consistency, add blueberry mixture to bowl and combine.

4. Add to pie crust, refrigerate for 30 minutes, and then bake in an oven preheated to 375 degrees for about 30 minutes.

Recipe adapted from King Arthur’s Flour.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 9:31 am

    I love Smitten Kitchen’s all butter pie crust – I even go so far as to call it the perfect pie crust ( http://www.seletsucre.com/the-perfect-pie-crust/ ). Love your use of red wine in the pie filling here!

    I don’t see any way to contact you on here. Might I recommend adding a contact form?

    Also, I asked you this before on the comments of PoP but you probably missed it – is it okay if I link to your blog? No link back necessary (though of course it would be appreciated).

  2. December 6, 2011 7:31 pm

    She’s just amazing. I trust her more than most people. Have you tried her birthday cake? I’m making it this week.

  3. December 7, 2011 10:38 am

    I haven’t (though my roommate made the chocolate sour cream frosting for cupcakes and it was pretty tasty) – do let me know how it turns out!

  4. December 9, 2011 5:14 pm

    Yes it is ok! I added a link back too. Adding a contact form now…

    Still working on the “about me”. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

